Moscow region, Sergiev Posad, Lavra, Academy

I want to apply. What now?

The Moscow Theological Academy is a higher education institution with a classical humanitarian education. It is a spiritual center that educates future pastors, theologians, academics, icon painters, church choir directors, teachers of educational institutions of the Orthodox Church. More than one and a half thousand people teach and study here. Students from all over the world come here to enroll.

Among the graduates of the MThA there are many Orthodox hierarchs, church and public figures, academics and theologians, saints, among them - Saint Philaretus (Drozdov), Saint Athanasius (Sakharov), Sainted Hilarion (Troitsky), Patriarch-Catholicos of All Georgia Elias II, Archimandrite John (Krestiankin), Metropolitan Onuphrius of Kiev and All Ukraine, famous theologian Alexey Osipov.

Here researchers are engaged in in the field of biblical studies, church history, theology, liturgy, canon law, philosophy, patrology, church art, work on translations from ancient and modern languages. Among the teaching staff of the Academy are doctors and candidates of theology, art criticism, philosophy, history and philology.

The Academy educational structure consists of a bachelor's degree, a master's degree (within six departments), a post-graduate course, a choir director's and iconography school, a distance learning department and a supplementary education department.

The Moscow Theological Academy is located on the territory of Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra, the largest monastery of the Russian Orthodox Church. The relics of St. Sergius of Radonezh, the founder of the Lavra and patron of education, are located here. Among the Lavra and Academy monks there are world-famous academics, graduates of European universities. Students of the Academy always have a choice whether to accept monastic vows or stay in the world.

Young lads and maidens from all over Russia come to the Academy, live here for six months and go home only for the holidays. Every day (except Sundays) students go to class, and after class- to their obediences. Also, regular worship services, morning and evening prayers are built into the student schedule.

Learn more about

  • Why people choose to receive a theological education,
  • How seminarians live and learn,
  • How often seminarians pray,
  • What lies ahead of the graduate,

then proceed to a Step-by-step guide on how to apply.

Московская область, г. Сергиев Посад, Лавра, Академия

Хочу поступить, что делать?

Московская духовная академия — высшее учебное заведение с классическим гуманитарным образованием. Это духовный центр, который воспитывает будущих пастырей, богословов, ученых, иконописцев, регентов церковных хоров, преподавателей учебных заведений Православной Церкви. Больше чем полторы тысячи человек преподают и обучаются здесь. Поступать сюда приезжают студенты со всего мира.

Среди выпускников МДА — множество православных иерархов, церковных и общественных деятелей, ученых и богословов, святых, среди которых — святитель Филарет (Дроздов), святитель Афанасий (Сахаров), святитель Иларион (Троицкий), патриарх-католикос всея Грузии Илия II, архимандрит Иоанн (Крестьянкин), митрополит Киевский и всея Украины Онуфрий, знаменитый богослов Алексей Ильич Осипов.

Здесь занимаются исследованиями в области библеистики, церковной истории, богословия, литургики, канонического права, философии, патрологии, церковного искусства, работают над переводами с древних и современных языков. Среди преподавателей – доктора и кандидаты богословия, искусствоведения, философских, исторических, филологических наук.

Академия состоит из бакалавриата (один факультет), магистратуры (шесть кафедр), аспирантуры, регентского и иконописного отделений, отделения заочного обучения и отдела дополнительного образования.

Московская духовная академия находится на территории Свято-Троицкой Сергиевой лавры – крупнейшего монастыря Русской Православной Церкви. Здесь почивают мощи преподобного Сергия Радонежского – основателя Лавры, покровителя образования. Среди лаврских и академических монахов — ученые с мировым именем, выпускники европейских университетов. У студентов Академии всегда есть выбор, принять ли им монашеский постриг или остаться в миру.

В Академию съезжаются парни и девушки со всей России, живут здесь по полгода и уезжают домой только на каникулы. Каждый день (кроме воскресений) студенты ходят на пары, а после пар — на послушания. А еще в студенческий график встроены регулярные богослужения, утренние и вечерние молитвы.

Узнайте подробнее,

  • Зачем получают духовное образование,
  • Как живут и учатся семинаристы,
  • Как часто семинаристы молятся,
  • Что ждет выпускника,

а затем переходите к Пошаговому плану для абитуриента.