Moscow region, Sergiev Posad, Lavra, Academy

Rector

Bishop Pitirim of Zvenigorod

The rector of the Moscow Theological Academy is appointed by decree of the Holy Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia with reference to a statement of the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church. The Rector directs the Moscow Theological Academy in accordance with the Academic Charter, with the help of deputies (vice-rectors), who are also approved by the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia. The Rector affirms the internal working schedule and regulations, delineates the functions of the structural subdivisions and the official duties of the employees of the Moscow Theological Academy, the Choir Director's School and School of Iconography. The rector also, insofar as his duties require him, issues orders and instructions for the employees of the Moscow Theological Academy, the Choir Director's School and School of Iconography.


Reception of the Rector of the MThA - telephone: (496) 541-55-50; fax: (496) 541-55-05; E-mail: rektor.pr@gmail.com (working hours: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (except Sundays and public holidays)).


  • Date of bishop's ordination - August 1, 2012
  • Date of priestly ordination - March 12, 2006
  • Date of deacon's ordination - September 11, 2005
  • Date of monastic tonsure - April 22, 2005
  • Date of birth - June 7, 1967
  • Name day - September 1

Academics

  • Moscow Regional Pedagogical University (1991)
  • Moscow Theological Seminary (2004)
  • Moscow Theological Academy (2007)

Awards

Church:

  • 2017 - Order of the St. Seraphim of Sarov of the III degree

Biography

Bishop Pitirim of Zvenigorod (in the world Konstantin Viktorovich Tvorogov) was born on June 7, 1967 in the city of Zagorsk (Sergiev Posad), Moscow Region, in a military family. He was baptized in infancy.  

In 1984, he graduated from the Zagorsk Secondary School No. 11 and was accepted to the Faculty of Russian Language and Literature at the Moscow Regional Pedagogical Institute at the. After the first year of the institute, he was drafted into the Armed Forces to serve in Mongolia.

In 1991 he graduated from the Moscow Regional Pedagogical Institute with a degree in Russian language and literature. He worked as a teacher of Russian language and literature in High School № 19 of Sergiev Posad, and also worked in commercial organizations.

In 1997, he worked as an acolyte and a reader in the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity at Pyatnitsky Cemetery in Moscow. From November 1999 to June 2000 he was a worker in the Trinity Monastery of the Holy Forefathers in Hebron.

In 2000 he was accepted to the Moscow Theological Seminary, which he graduated from in 2004. After graduating from the seminary he entered the Moscow Theological Academy. As a novice of the academy brotherhood, he held an obedience in the prison department for three years, responding to letters from prisoners, collecting packages and visiting prisons.

On April 22, 2005, he was tonsured a monk with the name Pitirim in honor of Saint Pitirim, Bishop of the Great Perm.

On September 11, 2005 he was ordained a deacon, and on March 12, 2006 he was ordained a priest. During six years on Sundays and holidays he served the Liturgy in the Pokrovsky Academic Church, and alsо the parish church in the village of Kamenki, Sergiev Posad district, Moscow region assigned to the Pokrovsky Khotkov convent.

He graduated from the Moscow Theological Academy in 2007.

From 2005, he has held an obedience to the Rector of the Moscow Theological Schools, Archbishop Eugene of Vereya. From 2008, he taught homiletics at the MThA. In academic year of 2009/10 he taught Russian language for foreigners in the MThA. Since 2011, he has been teaching homiletics at the St. Tikhon's Orthodox University.

By order of His Holiness Patriarch Cyril dated January 23, 2012, he was appointed to the Board of the Publishing Council of the Russian Orthodox Church for Review and Expert Assessment for 2012-2013.

He actively participated in the work of the missionary department of the Moscow Theological Academy, delivering speeches at the "Christmas Readings" and at the World Russian People's Council. He participated in the organization of student conferences within the framework of a project of the Publishing Council of the Russian Orthodox Church for the publication of the Full Collection of Works of St. Theophanes the Recluse.

By the decision of the Holy Synod of July 26, 2012 (journal № 66) he was elected Bishop of Dushanbe and Tajikistan.

On July 29, 2012, Metropolitan Barsonuphius of Saransk and Mordovia elevated hieromonk Pitirim to the rank of Archimandrite.

His Grace was made bishop on July 31, 2012 in the Church of the Cross-Cross in honor of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God in the Patriarchal residence on Chisty Pereulok, Moscow. He was ordained on August 1 at the Divine Liturgy in the Seraphimo-Diveevsky Monastery. The divine services were headed by His Holiness Patriarch Cyril.

By the decision of the Holy Synod of August 30, 2019 (journal No. 104) bishop Pitirim was appointed Rector of the Moscow Theological Academy with release from the administration of the Dushanbe Diocese. He was appointed Bishop of Zvenigorod, Vicar of the Most Holy Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Московская область, г. Сергиев Посад, Лавра, Академия

Ректор

епископ Звенигородский Питирим

Ректор Московской духовной академии назначается на должность указом Святейшего Патриарха Московского и всея Руси на основании определения Священного Синода Русской Православной Церкви. Ректор осуществляет руководство Московской духовной академией в соответствии с академическим Уставом, при посредстве заместителей (проректоров), утверждаемых в должности Святейшим Патриархом Московским и всея Руси. Ректором утверждается внутренний распорядок и регламент работы, полномочия структурных подразделений и должностные обязанности работников Московской духовной академии, Регентской и Иконописной школ, а также, в пределах своей компетенции, издаются приказы, распоряжения, указания, обязательные для исполнения работниками Московской духовной академии, Регентской и Иконописной школ.


Приёмная Ректора МДА — телефон: (496) 541-55-50; факс: (496) 541-55-05; e-mail: rektor.pr@gmail.com (график работы — с 9.00 по 17.00 (кроме воскресных и праздничных дней)).


  • Дата епископской хиротонии — 1 августа 2012 года
  • Дата иерейской хиротонии — 12 марта 2006 года
  • Дата диаконской хиротонии — 11 сентября 2005 года
  • Дата пострига — 22 апреля 2005 года
  • Дата рождения — 7 июня 1967 года
  • Тезоименитство — 1 сентября

Образование

  • Московский областной педагогический университет (1991 год)
  • Московская духовная семинария (2004 год)
  • Московская духовная академия (2007 год)

Награды

Церковные:

  • 2017 год — орден преподобного Серафима Саровского III степени

Биография

Епископ Звенигородский Питирим (в миру  Константин Викторович Творогов) родился 7 июня 1967 года в городе Загорск (Сергиев Посад) Московской области в семье служащих. Крещен в младенчестве.  

В 1984 году окончил Загорскую среднюю школу № 11 и поступил в Московский областной педагогический институт на факультет русского языка и литературы. После первого курса института был призван в ряды Вооруженных сил. Службу проходил в Монголии.

В 1991 году закончил Московский областной педагогический институт по специальности учитель русского языка и литературы. Работал учителем русского языка и литературы в старших классах Сергиево-Посадской средней школы № 19, а также работал в коммерческих организациях.

В 1997 году работал алтарником и чтецом в храме Живоначальной Троицы на Пятницком кладбище в Москве. С ноября 1999 года по июнь 2000 года был трудником в Троицком монастыре святых. праотец в Хевроне.

В 2000 году поступил в Московскую духовную семинарию, которую окончил в 2004 году. По окончании семинарии поступил в Московскую духовную академию. Будучи послушником при академии, в течение трех лет нес послушание в тюремном отделе, отвечая на письма заключенных, собирая им посылки и посещая тюрьмы.

22 апреля 2005 года пострижен в монашество с именем Питирим в честь святителя Питирима, епископа Великопермского.

11 сентября 2005 года рукоположен во диакона, 12 марта 2006 года — во иерея. В течение шести лет по воскресным и праздничным дням служил Литургию в Покровском академическом храме, а также нес послушание в приходском храме, приписанном к Покровскому Хотькову женскому монастырю в деревне Каменки Сергиево-Посадского района Московской области.

В 2007 г. окончил Московскую духовную академию.

С 2005 года нес послушание референта ректора Московских духовных школ архиепископа Верейского Евгения. С 2008 года преподавал гомилетику в МДА. В 2009/2010 учебном году преподавал в МДА русский язык для иностранцев. С 2011 года преподавал гомилетику в Православном Свято-Тихоновском гуманитарном университете.

Распоряжением Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла от 23 января 2012 года определен в состав коллегии Издательского Совета Русской Православной Церкви по рецензированию и экспертной оценке на 2012-2013 годы.

Принимал активное участие в работе миссионерского отдела Московской духовной академии. Выступал с докладами на Рождественских чтениях и на Всемирном русском народном соборе. Участвовал в организации студенческих конференций в рамках проекта Издательского Совета Русской Православной Церкви по изданию Полного собрания творений свт. Феофана Затворника.

Решением Священного Синода от 26 июля 2012 года (журнал № 66) избран епископом Душанбинским и Таджикистанским.

29 июля 2012 года управляющим делами Московской Патриархии митрополитом Саранским и Мордовским Варсонофием возведен в сан архимандрита.

Наречен во епископа 31 июля 2012 года в крестовом храме в честь Владимирской иконы Божией Матери Патриаршей резиденции в Чистом переулке в Москве. Хиротонисан 1 августа за Божественной литургией в Серафимо-Дивеевском монастыре. Богослужения возглавил Святейший Патриарх Кирилл.

Решением Священного Синода от 30 августа 2019 года (журнал № 104) назначен ректором Московской духовной академии с освобождением от управления Душанбинской епархией. Определено быть епископом Звенигородским, викарием Святейшего Патриарха Московского и всея Руси.